The Carpetbagger’s Weekly Case Studies

Victoria, Victoria Beckham raincloud-emblazened sheath

Michelle Williams in Victoria, Victoria Beckham raincloud-emblazened sheath

So I officially want to be best friends with Michelle Williams.  Not only to borrow her amazingly sweet wardrobe, but just to be in the presence of someone who seems so kind and charming in a very gentle manner.  Now about this dress-I don’t know if I could dream up anything cuter and more charmingly nostalgic.  I mean seriously, way to take a basic silhouette and make it completely one of a kind!  Always a fan of collared necks, I love how this little number distributes a perfect ratio of creamy white,  a good-humored print, and  touch of sparkle.  I agree with her choice of simple black heels and no jewelry, letting the dress do all the talking.  Williams wears this beauty with ease and contagious smile, the perfect accessory!

Sarah Michelle Gellar in Haute Hippie mini and cropped black blazer

Oh Sarah Michelle, nice try honey.  But this look just isn’t working for me.  The basic idea behind it is fine- a sparkling black and gold mini with a black blazer, though the particular separates she chose don’t mesh well, not to mention rather ill-fitting.  I know for a fact that this girl has a knockout body, but this outfit adds 15, 20 pounds easily.  She could do so much better, much sexier, and much more flattering and I’m hoping that for her next public appearance she will.  This  outfit would be best suited on a 13 year old girl making her debut at her Bat Mitzvah.

10 Crosby by Derek Lam

Diane Kruger in 10 Crosby by Derek Lam

Diane Kruger is one of my favorites, because not only does she behold the beauty of a poised goddess, she takes fashion risks and does so brilliantly.  Here in this 10 Crosby by Derek Lam look, she does a fine job of making this look her own.  I happen to be a big fan of stripes and florals together and this is exception.  However, I’m not so keen on the dress poking out under the skirt?  It keeps your eye moving back and forth and not in a good evened out sort of way, more in a confused “wait, what?” sort of way.  But that could just be me, and I still give her props for not playing it too safe.  Last, but not least I dig the sandals; I always agree with a palette of green, black, and yellow.

Sarah Jessica Parker in Oscar de la Renta dress and Leather Jacket

Sarah Jessica Parker in Oscar de la Renta dress and Leather Jacket

Oh Sarah Jessica, what do I say… Good try?  All this looks like is a way too long nightgown made from an 80’s prom dress fabric, then she goes all Michael Jackson on us with the jacket and those gloves!?  Nothing about this is okay.  Better luck next time.

Krysten Ritter in Peter Som

I would like to apologize to Peter Som on behalf of Krysten Ritter.  Mr. Som, you are a lovely designer, it’s really too bad this usually cute actress does a sham of a job representing you at your Fall 2012 show!  I mean, what is there to this dress besides managing to looking like a potato sack?  And don’t even get me started on the  mismatched purple accessories!

Rooney Mara in Louis Vuitton

Rooney Mara knows how to impress in this impeccably tailored Louis Vuitton beauty.  The emerald green is the perfect, yet subtle quality of this dress to take it from basic to arousing and elegant.  The shoes are alright, I guess.  I don’t hate them, but I think I’d prefer to see this dress paired with some classic kitten heels in the same gorgeous emerald shade to enhance the charmingly humble vibe of the dress.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Carpetbagger’s Weekly Case Studies

Leave a Reply

