The Carpetbagger’s Weekly Case Studies

Kim Kardashian

Kim Kardashian

Now, I am usually so NOT a fan of this girl’s style, but every now and then she’s bound to make some descent choices.  This look is super duper cute and I would love to rock it myself.

Emma Roberts

Emma Roberts in Kate Spade Oxfords

Emma is a girl who I’m still on the fence about.  I’ve seen her do well just as many times as she’s looked completely lost in some getups.  But here, looking like a woman with things to do, places to be, she does these clothes some good.

Rachel Mccadams

Rachel Mccadams in Andrew Gn

Simple and stunning.

Drew Barrymore in J. Crew Dress

Drew Barrymore in J. Crew Dress

This is how you take a simple smock sillhouette and gracefully jazz it up with a boldly beautiful print and some kick-ass Brian Atwood purple Suede pumps.   Well done Drew Barrymore!

Zoe Saldana in Alexander McQeen

Zoe Saldana in Alexander McQeen

  Always a fan of McQeen’s attention to detail that makes each and everyone of his designs his own.  Not to mention, it fits the girl to a T!

Katherine Heigl

Katherine Heigl

 Close but no cigar, Katherine Heigl.  Don’t get me wrong, I am all for this relatively clownish inspired ensemble, but paired with her perfectly coiffed hair and to quote what a friend so kindly calls “church hands,” this look is sending me mixed messages.  I’d like to see hot hot neon nail polish on her finger nails and give her a noogie to tousle up her hair a bit.

Blake Lively in Valentino

Blake Lively in Valentino

 Perfectly dainty and commanding at the same time.

Michelle Williams in Erdem

Michelle Williams in Erdem

One word: WINNING!

Chloe Sevigny

Chloe Sevigny

Before I say anything, I must say I will always be an admirer of Chloe Sevigny.  She takes the phrase “march to the beat of your own drum” to a whole new level and I love that in a woman and her personal style.  However, maybe this time I think she took the goth inspired look a tad too far?  Each piece has potential (maybe not the shoes, can’t decide) but all together it’s a bit witchy for my liking.  Though as always, I look forward to her next move.  Fashion Week is almost here, and I have no doubt Miss Sevigny will deliver!

Jennifer Lopez in Dolce & Gabbana

Jennifer Lopez in Dolce & Gabbana

More often than not I find J. Lo’s looks more cheesy than chic, but in this Dolce & Gabbana pink boxy coat, the woman has proved me wrong.  Her Kzeniya clutch is perfectly fitting with this bold coat so much that I am not even bothered by the red pumps.  She manages to make it all work!

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “The Carpetbagger’s Weekly Case Studies

Leave a Reply

