The Carpetbagger’s Case Studies: Oscars Edition!

On Oscar night, the red carpet was overflowing with a bevy of gowns.   Some classic and tasteful and some not so much.. I will just be recapping the dresses that were most impressionable to me.

Octavia Spencer in Tadashi Shoji

Octavia Spencer looks positively splendid, this dress is simply divine on her.  Not only is the classic silhouette super flattering, but the intricately beaded fabric drapes to her body like white on rice.  Definitely a winning look.  The only accessory I can think of that could take it up a notch is that little gold statue.. oh wait, you won that too.

Emma Stone in Giambattista Valli Haute Couture

I’m digging Emma Stone in this red Giambattista Valli gown.  Just as fitting as her vibrant hair color, it’s bold hue suits Emma and her infectious personality.  This beautiful talent is no wallflower and she’s making that clear in a very classy way (take note Fergie).  The dress has a touch of that old hollywood glamour to it, yet still manages to have a free-flowing and relaxed vibe, much like Emma herself.  A tiny part of me does wonder what with that body and mischievous smile, the actress could have pulled off, but she absolutely steered clear of disappointing.

Angelina Jolie in Atelier Versace

Okay, I can’t say I don’t like the dress, but good G-d woman, eat a sandwich!  And any bit of respect I had for Angelina is pretty much gone after her beyond vain way of non-stop-over the top posing.  Maybe in her head she thought she was being classy?  But it’s not often I see such tackiness interrupting an otherwise elegant evening.  She loses even more points with me for putting her  disturbingly frail stature on display as if it were the epitome of sexy.  Excellent role you’re setting, mother of 6.

Michelle Williams in Louis Vuitton

Michelle Williams has made it quite clear that she is incapable of looking anything short of perfect.  As I’ve recently mentioned, the peplum has made an overwhelming comeback and I encourage all trend followers and fashionistas alike to take note-THIS is how you wear it!  Everything about Michelle in this dress is stunning.  The subtly tiered layers humbly enhance the romantic essence of the gown.   And the simple pink clutch and classic diamond choker are chosen wisely to let the dress take center stage.  Michelle radiates absolute beauty in this Louis Vuitton and manages to set the bar for best dressed even higher.

Gwyneth Paltrow in Tom Ford

I (almost) always adore what Gwyneth decides to go with on the red carpet, and though I’m a teensy bit underwhelmed, I think that this simple, white Tom Ford gown is very appropriate and lovely.  I do wish there was maybe a little bit more going on, but I don’t blame her for playing it on the safer side, it is the Oscars after-all.  She did have some mild fun with her cape/jacket piece, that later came off so we could see her structured shoulders and asymmetrical neckline, which is probably my favorite part of the whole look.  And  when it comes to looking like an ethereal goddess draped in white, Gwyneth takes home the gold!

Jessica-Chastain in Alexander McQueen

Jessica Chastain is more of a newcomer on the scene in Hollywood and to be honest, I’ve been mostly indifferent with her fashion choices.  But Jessica, you now have my full attention!  This dress, with that hair, and little else (just some wisely chosen gold earrings) is exquisite.  I would love to try on this gorgeous dress just to see what it feels like to be draped in such divine beauty.  The gold threaded flowers that wildly make their way through the gown are what really brings this dress by McQeen to the next level.  I am truly in awe of it.  Well done Jessica Chastain, way to steal the spotlight with grace, and enviable style.

Rooney Mara in Givenchy

Rooney Mara went with a white Givenchy gown with a touch of architectural detailing and a beautifully draped train.  I believe that a woman can never go wrong with Givenchy when walking the red carpet, and this dress is no exception, but honestly my favorite part of the actress’s whole look is her dreamy snowlike complexion and bluntly cut bangs.   Rooney rocks this hairstyle with more unique beauty and poise than most girls could dream of.  I am in no way opposed to her dress, but it is her fiercly bold hairstyle that I think Rooney Mara will be remembered by.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 139 other followers

